Robert Holdstock SF Gateway Omnibus PDF ePub eBook

Books Info:

Robert Holdstock SF Gateway Omnibus free pdf From The SF Gateway, the most comprehensive digital library of classic SFF titles ever assembled, comes an ideal sample introduction to the fantastic work of Robert Holdstock, one of modern fantasy's most original and influential voices. Holdstock's Mythago Wood, winner of the World Fantasy Award for best novel, is regarded as the definitive treatment of the wildwood, and his Merlin Codex trilogy is one of the few truly original takes on the Arthurian legend. This omnibus contains two of his early SF novels: Earthwind and Where Time Winds Blow and a collection of his highly-acclaimed short fiction, In the Valley of the Statues.

About Robert Holdstock

Robert Holdstock (1948 - 2009) Robert Paul Holdstock was born in a remote corner of Kent, sharing his childhood years between the bleak Romney Marsh and the dense woodlands of the Kentish heartlands. He received an MSc in medical zoology and spent several years in the early 1970s in medical research before becoming a full-time writer in 1976. His first published story appeared in the New Worlds magazine in 1968 and for the early part of his career he wrote science fiction. However, it is with fantasy that he is most closely associated. 1984 saw the publication of Mythago Wood, winner of the BSFA and World Fantasy Awards for Best Novel, and widely regarded as one of the key texts of modern fantasy. It and the subsequent 'mythago' novels (including Lavondyss, which won the BSFA Award for Best Novel in 1988) cemented his reputation as the definitive portrayer of the wild wood. His interest in Celtic and Nordic mythology was a consistent theme throughout his fantasy and is most prominently reflected in the acclaimed Merlin Codex trilogy, consisting of Celtika, The Iron Grail and The Broken Kings, published between 2001 and 2007. Among many other works, Holdstock co-wrote Tour of the Universe with Malcolm Edwards, for which rights were sold for a space shuttle simulation ride at the CN Tower in Toronto, and The Emerald Forest, based on John Boorman's film of the same name. His story, 'The Ragthorn', written with friend and fellow author Garry Kilworth, won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novella and the BSFA Award for Short Fiction. Robert Holdstock died in November 2009, just four months after the publication of Avilion, the long-awaited, and sadly final, return to Ryhope Wood.

Details Book

Author : Robert Holdstock
Publisher : Gateway
Data Published : 28 November 2013
ISBN : 0575118806
EAN : 9780575118805
Format Book : PDF, Epub, DOCx, TXT
Number of Pages : 576 pages
Age + : 15 years
Language : English
Rating :

Reviews Robert Holdstock SF Gateway Omnibus

17 Comments Add a comment

Related eBooks Download

  • Robert Bresson free pdfRobert Bresson

    A comprehensive introduction to the work of Robert Bresson. one of the most respected and acclaimed directors in the history of cinema. It deals not only with his 13 feature-length films but also his little-seen early short "Affaires Publiques" and his short treatise "Notes on Cinematography"..

  • Tor.Com  free pdfTor.Com

    This outstanding collection of short stories features some of the best of original fiction. in audio for the first time. Written for and originally published exclusively on this audiobook includes Nebula and World Fantasy Award-nominated short stories..

  • E.C. Tubb SF Gateway Omnibus free pdfE.C. Tubb SF Gateway Omnibus

    A prolific author of hundreds of stories in the fields of SF. fantasy and westerns. E. C. Tubb. was best-known for his epic 33-volume Dumarest saga. a galaxy-spanning adventure series..

  • Fantasy Fiction into Film free pdfFantasy Fiction into Film

    This work examines the symbolism of fantasy fiction. literal and figurative representation in fantastic film adaptations. and the imaginative differences between page and screen. Essays focus on movies adapted from various types of fantasy fiction - novels..

  • Shadow and Betrayal free pdfShadow and Betrayal

    A value-priced omnibus of the first two novels of Daniel Abraham's classic Long Price Quartet groundbreaking. unique fantasy of rare power and originalityIn this omnibus edition of "A Shadow in Summer "and "A Betrayal in Winter..

  • Robert Holdstock SF Gateway Omnibus free pdfRobert Holdstock SF Gateway Omnibus

    . From The SF Gateway, the most comprehensive digital library of classic SFF titles ever assembled, comes an ideal sample introduction to the fantastic work of Robert Holdstock, one of modern fantasy'